Archive

Archive for 06/21/2010

Will I be buying a PlayStation Move? Maybe…

06/21/2010 1 comment

I recently caught some of the videos from the PlayStation press conference at E3.  There were two main themes from Sony this year: the PlayStation Move, a motion controller that will be hitting stores in September, and the introduction of their 3D TVs as well as 3D video games on the PS3.  They kept mentioning at E3 that the Move is a motion based controller with 1 to 1 motion, hence providing the truest motion based video gaming that is currently available.  I’ll have to take their word for it because until we try it there will be no idea how to know what it feels like.

The Move controller will cost $49.99.  They will be selling a Move bundle that includes the Move, PlayStation Eye, and the Move supported game Sports Champions.  That bundle sells for $99.99.  For non-PS3 owners, you can add a PS3 system to that bundle and get the whole thing for $399.99.  There are supposed to be more than 40 games that will include support for the Move by the holiday season including Killzone 3, Tiger Woods 11, NBA 2k11, SOCOM 4, and more.  For those not familiar with the Move, I’ve embedded the PlayStation video showcasing what the Move is all about:

The folks at IGN tried it out at E3 and were quite impressed.

The main question is will it be worth the price?  For me, I’d only be getting one Move for $99.99 if I get the bundle.  But let’s say you’ve already bought a PS3 and you’ve got a family of three that likes to play.  Then you’d likely buy the bundle for $99.99 plus two more Move controllers for another $100.  These things add up.  I can easily see why people would avoid converting to the Move at first until they were sure that it was worth their investment.

Will the 3D/Move integration by Sony catch on?  Don’t underestimate the Sony users.  They are pretty much the main reason that Bluray caught on and is here to stay until everything goes digital.  These users are obviously who are being counted on to buy into 3D and the Move.  It might take some time given the current prices of 3D televisions but this could very well be the future of video gaming.  It will definitely be intriguing to monitor.

But will I get the Move?  Yeah, I might.  I really liked the demo of Tiger Woods 11 with the Move as it is supposed to provide the most realistic golf experience on a console.  That looked fun.  Also my favorite sports franchise, NBA 2K11, will be supported by the Move controller as well.  Just for those two games, the Move might be worth it for me.  Also the Sports Champions game that comes in the bundle looked cool as well.

But I’m not going to buy into it right away.  I’m going to see how it goes in the early stages and see what people think of it.  If people really like it, I’ll probably be hitting the links in no time.  Hey, it could be fun.

It is obviously a very exciting time for Sony right now.  We’ll see if they can generate enough support from their fans and users to transform how the video game experience looks and feels.